The Williamson Award

The Williamson Award is the Haas School’s highest faculty honor. Named for Nobel Laureate and Professor Emeritus Oliver Williamson, the award recognizes faculty members who exemplify the school’s four Defining Leadership Principles.

The Earl F. Cheit Award For Excellence In Teaching

At Haas, excellence in teaching is recognized through the annual Earl F. Cheit Award. This award is named after Dean Emeritus Earl F. Cheit, who made teaching excellence one of his top priorities as dean. The recipients of the Cheit Award are chosen by panels of students based on nominations submitted by students.



Graduate Student Instructors (GSIs):

  • Full-time MBA Program: Auyon Chakrabarti
  • Evening & Weekend MBA program: Patrick Drown
  • Undergraduate Program: Kunal Cholera
  • MFE Program: Yao Zhao
  • Executive MBA Program: Lokesh Mandava



Graduate Student Instructors (GSIs):

  • Full-time MBA Program: Muhammad Zia Mehmood
  • Evening & Weekend MBA program: Mahek Chheda
  • Undergraduate Program: Khalil Somani
  • MFE Program: Yao Zhao
  • Executive MBA Program: Kunal Cholera












  • Undergraduate Program: Julie Suh
  • PhD Program: Nicolae Garleanu
  • Full-time MBA Program: Gustavo Manso
  • Evening MBA Program: Panos Patatoukas
  • Weekend MBA Program: Shachar Kariv
  • Berkeley-Columbia Executive MBA Program: Andrew Rose
  • MFE Program: Rossen Valkanov



  • Undergraduate Program: Frank Schultz
  • Full-time MBA Program: Rashi Glazer
  • Evening & Weekend MBA Program: Peter Goodson and Suneel Udpa
  • Berkeley-Columbia Executive MBA Program: Steve Blank
  • Ph.D. Program: Martin Lettau
  • MFE Program: Alexei Tchistyi and Michael Melvin


Previous recipients of the Cheit Teaching Award (1976–2008)

UC Berkeley Distinguished Teaching Award

Each year, UC Berkeley rewards teaching excellence through the Distinguished Teaching Award. The recipients of this award are first nominated by the deans/chairs of the colleges, schools, or departments and then chosen by the campus committee on teaching, which comprises faculty and students.

The Distinguished Teaching Award was initiated to encourage and reward excellence in teaching on the Berkeley campus. These are the Berkeley Haas faculty members who have received this honor:

  • 2018: Panos N. Patatoukas
  • 2015: Ulrike Malmendier
  • 2010: Teck-Hua Ho
  • 2001: Sara Beckman
  • 1998: Richard K. Lyons
  • 1992: David M. Modest
  • 1989: Earl F. Cheit
  • 1985: Frances Van Loo
  • 1982: Laura D’Andrea Tyson
  • 1981: Joseph Pratt
  • 1980: Timothy Crichfield
  • 1979: Andrew Shogan
  • 1978: Richard Bagozzi